FOTD – September 2 – Swan River Myrtle (Hypocalymma robustum)

Today another of the beautiful native flowers of my State of Western Australia – the Swan River Myrtle, named after the river that cuts my city of Perth into two halves as it runs down ‘The Hills’ from East to West where it meets the Indian Ocean at the harbour port of Fremantle.

It’s a small but brightly coloured shrub, growing between 0.4 – 1.0 metres tall (1-3 ft) and has masses of small pink flowers clumped along thin stems from June to November. It is especially attractive to bees. I found this one by the lakeside where the ‘Cockie’s Tongues‘ were also growing. 🙂

(Click on a pic to open in a new window and click again to see enlarged detail!) 🙂lovewillbringustogether - Swan River Myrtle1The narrow leaves of this plant are arranged like small propellers along the vertical stems. 🙂

lovewillbringustogether - Swan River Myrtle2Multiple woody ‘spikes’ rise up from a central root which turn almost totally pink in Winter and Spring!

lovewillbringustogether - Swan River Myrtle3

The flowers are very popular with the local honey-collectors. Can you find where the second one is hiding in this photo?  🙂

.
.

link to:

Cee’s Flower of the Day – September 2, 2019 – Dahlia

.

love.

18 comments

    • Grazie mille! 🙂

      It makes me happy when people appreciate the beauty i try to display on my blog!

      I never tire of the endless variations of beautiful things i find with my camera. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I welcome comments - share the love!