Flower of the Day – November 29 – Purple Bougainvillea

I have two colours of Bougainvillea, one at either end of the garden pergola. I had to severely cut the pink one back after winter as it had grown so big it was pulling the pergola sideways at an alarming angle and is just now recovering with fresh tendrils and a few flowers.  The Purple one however…

(Click on the pics to open in a new window and click again to see full size detail) 🙂lovewillbringustogether - Bougainvillea1

lovewillbringustogether - Bougainvillea2

lovewillbringustogether - Bougainvillea4

I’ll let you draw your own conclusions – I just take the pictures. 😉lovewillbringustogether - Bougainvillea3

 

link to:

Cee’s Flower of the Day – November 29, 2018 – Gerbera

.
love. ❤

13 comments

    • In the right conditions they are very vigorous growers and can give stunning displays of masses of flowers in a wide range of colours, AND they are almost impossible to kill ( except maybe from cold – would’nt know about that! 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love, love, love your bougainvillea. As luck would have it, my neighbors have it growing on their fence and it pours into my back fence–it is that same gorgeous pink purple color that you show in this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, and the thorns on it really pinch. I had my backyard landscaped, and the workers needed to prune the bougainviella, and they cut their internet wire by mistake. A guy came to my door to tell me and said I could have been fined for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Over the four days it took i lost count of the thorn sticks i got on my arms and legs! Leather gloves are a necessity, Also the branches lock together better than any jigsaw! you can’t cut one and pull it out.

      Like

    • Absolutely a Bougainvillea, i also have a slightly paler pink version of yours! The pink parts are technically bracts (modified leaves) while the actual flowers are the 2 or 3 white trumpets that start as little twisted ‘cables’ poking out from the middle of each set of bracts! 😉

      The only bad part of them though is the needle sharp spiny thorns that can grow over 2 inches long.

      Liked by 1 person

I welcome comments - share the love!