Flower of the Day – October 9 – Nasturtium.

I picked this flower from my garden a couple of days ago. 🙂

I’ve mentioned in previous FOTD posts (here and here)about the meaning of the name Nasturtium and that it is also edible, but there is another twist to these.

The nasturtiums received their common name because they produce an oil similar to that of watercress (Nasturtium officinale). The scientific name of the nasturtium genus is not actually Nasturtium but Tropaeolum (T. majus).

(Click on the pics to open in a new window and click again to see full size detail) 🙂Lovewillbringustogether - Nasturtium1

link to:

Cee’s Flower of the Day – October 9, 2018 – Mums

.

.
love.

7 comments

  1. Not only do I get a lovely yellow nasturtium to look at this morning, but I find out another scientific fact about this plant. I like getting information in small doses like this; then I can digest it! Thanks. Hmmm…. the nasturtium chronicles……along with the poppy chronicles…..

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome comments - share the love!