I Love Microsoft… (#2)

 

 

… NOT NOT !

Windows 7 is getting too big for it’s (re)Boots!!!

 

Easter eggxample number 3 (for eg’s 1 and 2 see I Love Microsoft )

WP_20170414_001[1]

 

Now while some of you may not see that much of a problem here, after all it is only 4 updates right. None of the updates were over 100 mb in size (this time!!). I was up to date with updates 2 days ago. No Biggy right?

This pic of my laptop was taken 6 hours ago (still no change) which was 11 hours after trying to shut down the laptop.  I had, immediately prior to clicking on ‘Shut Down’, checked my  computer for updates and unclicked the four it had cued while being used. It decided it wanted to install them anyway and to punish me for daring to challenge it’s authority in the first place. ( I also had, on previous usage, chosen on my computer to only notify me of updates so that i could have final say on exactly when they were installed and not just when i had to shut my computer down, but owing to several automatic restores to previously safe boots when the laptop crashed (largely from problematic updates!!!) this particular option had been reset to Microsoft’s ‘preferred’ choice of just updating autonomously.

That is 17 hours and counting of continuous denied access to my laptop because of updates to what is obviously a very outdated  (but which still does what i want it too quite well under normal circumstances – ie. when i do not update it) Operating System.

 

In case any were wondering the screen, processor and hard drive are all active and nothing has ‘frozen’. The rotating icon is rotating, the hard drive light briefly flashes every second and regular noises can be heard coming from the hard drive as one more line of programming is read/written on the HD, which is around 25% full.

 

love.

3 thoughts on “I Love Microsoft… (#2)

  1. I was never fond of MicroSoft – at ALL – but stayed through DOS – *then* ran away screaming with Windows. If I had to mouse around anyway, I decided to do in on a platform that wasn’t built on top of code that was meant to stay Public Domain! Wouldn’t have stayed as long as I did except that I still had clients dedicated to “IBM” — the minute I was out on my own I moved to a platform that was STABLE!

    Not thrilled with Apple these days, but I’m SOOOOOOOOO glad I’m not MicroSoft!!!!

    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Press “off” for as long as it takes to darken. It may take 15 to 20 seconds, sometime even a minute. It will eventually turn off. If you have it said to turn off when you close it, do that. If it goes on longer and you can’t get it to go off, take it in and have it fixed before you don’t have a computer. No matter WHAT they say, the same downloads will come back if you turn off the computer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marilyn! After over 36 hours and trying the 10 second forced power-off and still getting the blue update screen on power-up i tried looking up help on google. The answer was remarkably simple.

      Remove the battery!

      I powered off removed battery, waited a while, replaced it and turned on – Voila! A couple of unusual start-up procedures including a please-wait-while-windows-updates screen (!?) but then all was ‘normal’. I have reset the automatic updates to ask me first and i have my laptop back!

      Might be off-line more than usual for a couple of days ( personal reasons) but i’ll be back! 🙂 Thanks for the advice/friendship once again 🙂

      love.

      Like

I welcome comments - share the love!

