A Beauty (Love)

i LOVE this…

.. a truly great film clip and an even better song from a singer i admired for her talent in my Youth – Alison Moyet. (Moy-yay) ( Also in Yazoo)

The clip and song work on way more than just one level – Magical! 🙂

Edit: For my friends who may be feeling ‘weak’ and in need of a little strength right now…

“And he hath said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for [my] power is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.
10 Wherefore I take pleasure in weaknesses, in injuries, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ`s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. ”

2 Cor 12:9-10

Beauty comes in all shapes and forms… remember always – you are truly Beautiful in His Eyes. The eyes of our fellow man are often blinded – as are our own.

[youTube = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yjpf4h5hK8g%5D

Original song by Floy Joy (Duo) 1986 – i think?

It’s a long time since I saw you
well you know how time can fly.
It seems like yesterday we were lovers
now we pass each other by.
But if we’re left alone tonight
don’t ask me to hold you tight.

I go weak
I go weak
I go weak
I go weak
weak in the presence of beauty.

All of my friends keep asking

Why I’m quiet when you’re around.

But they don’t know i think I’m so lucky

to stop myself from falling down.

So later if you’re on your own
Don’t ask me to take you home.
I go weak
I go weak
I go weak
. . .

‘Cause if we’re left alone tonight
I have no choice but to hold you tight.
I go weak
I go weak
I go weak
. . .
I go weak
I go weak
I go weak
. . .
Igo weak
I go weak
I go weak
. . .

9 thoughts on “A Beauty (Love)

  1. Yep – Floy Joy, a 1986 duo…and while they wrote this, Alison’s version is tons better.

    For the Americans out there, Yazoo were called Yaz in the US. I don’t think they really had much success, but they were brilliant in an 80s electronics + soul voice kind of way 🙂

    Can’t say I’m a big fan of this clip though. The song, yes. The clip…um…My goodness, look at that hair

    Like

  2. Not a fan of the clip?

    You sir, have no soul! 😉

    Thanks for the help for the rest-of-the-world challenged US readers and while it was a little after my ‘golden age’ of music ( the 70’s) 😳 Yazoo were not all that bad – even with the Hair thing 🙂

    How can anyone not like the clip???

    Like

  3. such an encouraging verse!

    and umm…..not to, uh, call you “old” or anything, but i figured i might point out that i was all of TWO when that song came out. 😉

    but i’m sure i had already embraced the 80’s more than any other toddler in the world. i was (still am) the biggest 80’s freak ever!

    Like

  4. Thanks, Love.

    Honestly, I’ve never heard the song before. My golden years were the 70’s. Are supposed to be embarrassed about that?

    When I am weak, then He is strong.

    Amen.

    Like

  5. I enjoyed the song and lyrics. I love any video with a smiling child in it.

    A beautiful smile can turn me to mush, but recognizing the beauty in every living thing makes feel strong. It reaffirms my faith in the forces that created our world.

    As far as hair goes I just wish I had enough for any style. 🙂

    Like

  6. Sis – you are most welcome – any thing i can do to help – even if it s a little.

    And i don’t think we have anything to be embarrassed about in living and enjoying the 70’s 😉

    JR _ Thank you for pointing that out young’un (Heh!) I got married the year BEFORE you were born – oh dear! 🙂

    Those verse hold great Hope i believe – that while we are not to try to be weak, when we are it is not the disaster some may feel it to be – He will be closer to us than ever at such times and our soul may be able to make more progress along it’s journey to Him.

    Ed – yeah – goldilocks got to me a bit too 🙂 I agree there is great strength in seeing such Beauty, it gives us a glimpse into the greatest ‘Force’ of all.

    I’m waiting till the ‘Friar Tuck’ style comes back into fashion! 🙂

    Like

  7. I am the biggest Vince Clarke fan around, so early Depeche Mode, Yazoo, The Assembly, Erasure.

    He also did a brilliant remix of Alison Moyet’s Whispering Your Name in 1994…which just made me nostalgic for Yazoo again. I was so annoyed they didn’t tour Australia when they reformed in 2007. So what if I was going to be the only person at their shows…at least I would have been at all of them,

    Met Vince back in 1997, nice guy.

    (Sorry it took me a week to get back here…haha)

    Like

I welcome comments - share the love!

