Altar Ego

Tonight I saw a Proud dad sharing with the Whole World his joy at the Imminent Union of his daughter to a good man in matrimony.

He even described something he clearly thought was Very Special of which he was also emminently proud. He had arranged for a Cross to be made out of ‘Texas Limestone’ which was to be used as an altar for the wedding service.

The man’s name was George W Bush – you might have heard of him?

He boasts of his Christianity a bit to the press and to the American God-Fearing people he got to vote for him.

I am not the greatest Biblical scholar – but when i read the Bible, most often important bits Stick.

Exodus 20 is where i HOPE most Christians know where to look for a list of the Ten Commandments given to mankind from God, via Moses.

What some might not remember is also contained in that Chapter are the following Verses. (feel free to look them up):

22 And the LORD said unto Moses, Thus thou shalt say unto the children of Israel, Ye have seen that I have talked with you from heaven.
23 Ye shall not make with me gods of silver, neither shall ye make unto you gods of gold.
24 An altar of earth thou shalt make unto me, and shalt sacrifice thereon thy burnt offerings, and thy peace offerings, thy sheep, and thine oxen: in all places where I record my name I will come unto thee, and I will bless thee.
25 And if thou wilt make me an altar of stone, thou shalt NOT build it of hewn stone: for if thou lift up thy tool upon it, thou hast polluted it.
26 Neither shalt thou go up by steps unto mine altar, that thy nakedness be not discovered thereon.

In case there is any doubt it is repeated in De 27:5…
5 And there shalt thou build an altar unto the LORD thy God, an altar of stones: thou shalt not lift up any iron tool upon them.

Maybe Mr Bush should try reading his Bible if he’s gonna be shooting his mouth off to the rest of the world about His Little Girls bridal arrangements and still wants God’s Blessing?

Any other Christians out there happy to not follow Scripture and claim to be Christian like good ol’ George? Anyone got a church with an altar of chiselled stone? Anyone go up a step or two to reach it’s altar?

WHY?

19 thoughts on “Altar Ego

  1. Hey, you did write a new post…hmmmm…I’m gonna think about this one for a while…

    Please allow me to ask one question. Are you saying all crosses are idols?

    Like

  2. Hi Sis πŸ™‚

    It can be a little dangerous to read more than what is written into the things i write πŸ™‚

    I am here ONLY repeating that which has been written in Scripture and broadcast around the world on the nightly news.

    If some make an idol of the Cross that is up to them. Scripture is quite clear about Graven Images of things in Heaven and on the earth.

    Two bits of wood at right angles do not constitute a graven image of something in those two realms to me.

    My post concerns the altar made of hewn stone – was not making any other point ( unless you count steps up to altars and folks who claim to be Christian but don’t follow Biblical Scripture).

    Unless there is a diferent interpretation of the last part of Exodus 20, and i feel certain there is one and someone will ‘correct me’ (Gently, i hope?)

    Have a wonderful Sunday πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Just to jump start the conversation the way you love me to do Love bug… πŸ˜† Are we living under old testament law or new testament? Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend and oh, I tagged you πŸ˜€ Come on over and yes you have to! I ♥ you!

    Like

  4. Hi Deb, Trying to live under the New Testament and constantly failing to do so 24/7 requires me to follow OT Law when i am not in Jesus.

    Many who call on His Name have need of OT Law today as much as then, Debs. I See GW – i don’t see Jesus there, Sorry.

    Mind if i play Tag tomorrow? – getting late here now! Sleep i hear your siren song! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. LOVE! I’m so confused….

    Okay, I wear a cross around my neck that is white gold and yellow gold. I have a stone cross that has 1 corinthians 13:4-7 engraved on it. I even have a candle holder that is a cross……

    are all of these things bad? I don’t feel that they are. To me, when I see a cross (built from anything) I think of it more as an inspirational thing than anything. It DIRECTS me Christ…sort of as a reminder, and a way of saying “this is what I believe.”

    Make sense?

    Like

  6. I know this may be rabbit trailing, but I think it is important to understand that the end of the Law came with the death of Christ, the torn veil symbolizing the ending of the Levitical system. Scriptural references are Mark 15:38, Hebrews 6:19, 9:3 and 10:20. Paul himself states that Christians are not under the OT law. In Acts 15:10, 19 it states “Now therefore why tempt God, to put a yoke upon the neck of the disciples, which neither our fathers nor we were able to bear? Romans 6:14 says “For sin shall not have dominion over you, for you are not under law but under grace.” Romans 10:4 “For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to everyone who belives.” In fact, the entire book of Galatians is a response to the idea that we are saved through the keeping of the law. Read in particular Galatians 3: 10-13….At the Jerusalem council (Acts 15:5-11, 19-21, 29) the disciples specifically rejected the idea that Gentile believers need to observe the OT law. There is alot to this Love, but I’m with Brandy. I wear many crosses given to me by friends and famiy over the years. It is a sign to people that I believe in a God, who is no longer there…and a reminder to me of what He did for me. I don’t worship the cross, but I value it, it has set me free. I will not, however, ever wear a cross with Him hanging on it. He’s no longer there…..Love ya Love BUg…Hope you had a restful sleep! ♥

    Like

  7. Hey Brandy Just to clarify again…

    It was NOT the shape of the stone carving (cross) i took issue with GW with here… it was the fact he said it was to be used as an ALTAR for His Daughter’s wedding. Knowing what the cross can represent to Christians i found that to be quite galling but that is personal taste – it was the disregard to the Chapter of the Bible that states the Lord’s Ten Commandments which i think Deb is saying all those who believe IN Jesus (not believe ON him) are no longer bound by, that got to me.

    For further explanation, i think what the problem with the ‘hewing stone’ for altars is: we are supposed to be ofering our praise and thanks to a Creator God greater than us at the Altar. It is then hypocritical of us to take something God Created (rock, stone, Earth) and ‘improve’ it with our own handiworks before it being considered ‘good’ enough to be worshipped by us upon.

    God never told us to make His House look aesthetically pleasing with straight geometric shapes and flat surfaces that He did not Create but are solely of Man’s desiring and impression that they are somehow more perfect, more beautiful to our eye.

    Quite the reverse in Fact. We’re supposed to be worshipping HIM – not our own idea of perfection.

    OK now? πŸ™‚

    Deb, i’m looking into your refs so i understand what you are basing your understanding on before replying. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. ahhhh I understand a bit better myself Love. Any place of worship is an altar. There is a common saying amongst us Americans, about when we say we need to just give something to God, (meaning giving Him full control and letting go) that we “lay it on the altar”. When I say that, it just represents my total surrender to Him. I’ve laid it at His feet so to speak so that I don’t get in the way. I don’t think GB was referring to worshipping an altar, but rather having it represent a place of worship so the marriage is God centered.

    “God never told us to make His House look aesthetically pleasing with straight geometric shapes and flat surfaces that He did not Create but are solely of Man’s desiring and impression that they are somehow more perfect, more beautiful to our eye.” Excellent statement and amen! The “church” is the people…my most powerful times of worship came from run down, cockroach infested places with no electricity or time limit….

    “Deb, i’m looking into your refs so i understand what you are basing your understanding on before replying”

    ***gulp**** πŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. 17 Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfil.
    18 For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled.
    19 Whosoever therefore shall break one of these least commandments, and shall teach men so, he shall be called the least in the kingdom of heaven: but whosoever shall do and teach them, the same shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven. Matt 5:17-19

    Deb, you are right in believing those who believe in Christ are no longer subject to remission of sins through animal sacrifice. However, it is WRONG to think we can wilfully break any commandment of God to those who were before Christ.

    Christs’s sacrifice and Establishment of the New Testament and it’s one Commandment (Love) was the perfect Fulfilment of the Law of Moses – He showed all the way to ensure they never broke any preceding commandment of God to his Children who were condemned by reason of Eve’s original Sin.

    He did not make the Law meaningless – he made it Perfect through The Spirit – that we who are IN Him must do, through free-choice, but who can STILL sin and fall from Him to be burned eternally.

    26 For if we sin wilfully after that we have received the knowledge of the truth, there remaineth no more sacrifice for sins,
    27 But a certain fearful looking for of judgment and fiery indignation, which shall devour the adversaries. Heb 10:26-27

    I say that any who choose to follow Mr Bush and make a carved stone altar will not do so without consequence.

    Are we clear on this topic? Or need we discuss this further in private? I would not argue with you or be seen to be bickering or in disagreement with one who is In Christ.

    love ♥

    Like

  10. “gulp” LOL

    Never be afraid of me looking up for better understanding Deb – i am learning not to shoot my mouth off before looking into the Word – you are partly ( mostly πŸ˜‰ ) responsible for that and i owe you one πŸ™‚ Thank you for clarifying about ‘laying things at the altar’ There are some ‘Americanism’s i am not fully conversant with and can sometimes misunderstand as a result.

    I am not saying though that GW or anyone at the weeding was worshipping the altar (stone cross) – that it is a graven image as per Exodus 20, verse 4. No – i am saying that we should not use, as an altar of worship to the Lord ANY stone that has been ‘improved’ by man hewing it with their iron tools.

    It seemed like GW was proudly declaring he had a Texas Limestone (Hewn) Cross made and it was to be used as an altar for the wedding – since i don’t think he was referring to ‘Naturally formed’ Stone Crosses (but i stand open to correction if i got this ‘wrong’) πŸ™‚

    Did that make more sense? πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. OOps:oops: I missed answering your other q Deb – forgive me.

    The way i distinguish between believing IN and believing ON is…

    Some seem to think it sufficient to believe in His name and the ‘fact’ (some don’t have enough evidence of this for them to ‘believe’ not realising it is all about their Faith) he lived on earth as meaning that they get a free pass straight to Heaven because of this regardless of their other thoughts or deeds.

    “I’m saved because i believe Jesus lived and wants to save me.”

    Those folks are not going to be too happy if they don’t live their lives by only doing their Father’s Will.

    To belive IN Jesus – to me- is to do AS He did while he lived here – all that he did in terms of ridding his earthly body of earthly desire so that He was able to do ONLY His Father’s Will ALL the time – even when upon the cross his suffering seemed more than he alone could bear (“Why have you foresaken me?”)

    Living and believing IN Jesus, in His Spirit that was His Father’s also is a far greater thing than believing on Him.

    Many who believe ON Him still fall and can bring others down with them – Their pride usually prevents them from recognising this – even when it becomes obvious to others by reason of their acts.

    Was this distinction clear, and would you agree? πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Love, I have so much I would love to say to you to answer your post. I would probably take up half of your page however:) I preached on this very topic last month, and it is available online for anyone to listen to. If you are so inclined, it can be found at http://www.getgodfree.com scroll down to where it says *April 6,2008, Rev. Kelly Chorley*
    Then perhaps we can chat further? If you don’t care to listen, I will just share a few things in response to your post later. Looking forward to conversation! Enjoy your day:)

    Like

  13. Morning Love: It’s funny to me, reading through your reasons of “In” and “On”, I agree with them completely except for one difference. Your “IN” reasons are my “ON” reasons! πŸ™‚ Maybe again it is American language, but to me you have to believe ON Christ…completely dependant on Him. The reason i would reverse the words is because the enemy himself believes IN God, and as you said, this “Many who believe ON Him still fall and can bring others down with them – Their pride usually prevents them from recognising this – even when it becomes obvious to others by reason of their acts.” is so right on, and still so very ugly today. The very reason Satan fell, pride. But again, it was, to me, belief in Him which caused the fall.

    To me, belief on Him, is depending on Him, relying on HIm, striving to daily pick up our crosses and be like Him, the other reasons you listed under “IN”. I’m glad your in the Word more, and I praise Him that I helped getting you there…He left us that instruction manual for a reason, and has not let me down once when I seek a “life” answer.

    I think we’re clear on the altar thingy…There is alot we could discuss..but I don’t want you to feel like it’s a bickering session…that is in no way my intent…just throwing some ideas out there! Love ya Love, I know it’s about time for bed for you, and I have to work now! Have a sweet sleep. πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. Hey Deb, i have posted again on my problem with GW’s wedding ideas – you might see what my concern is there?

    As for in versus on i don’t think we’re quite looking at things the same here and while it is not necessary for either of us to see everything in the same way i hope we can understand the other at least – since we both Love Christ after all πŸ™‚

    the BIG difference i see between believing IN to believing ON Jesus is simply this. (MY understanding and what i hope all see a big difference between.) One who believes IN Jesus has the same Spirit living within them as Jesus had and it overcomes their own will- ALWAYS!

    One who believes ON Jesus has their own will in control of their daily life many, many times and thinks they believe about Jesus Christ as God but don’t alter themselves to only live in Spirit – they are still OF the earth – not on it.

    Currently i have to confess i am closer to the latter than the former. I fully understand this is because of the way i have lived my life so far and am not entirely ‘ready’ to give up.

    But i learn daily and do my best to share Truth so that all can learn by it for themselves.

    Like

  15. Kelly – Wow i can’t rememebr that last time i heard someone talk for over an hour straight without someone else saying a word πŸ™‚

    I heard your message. i understand what you are saying. I have not become as you have yet.

    Now, where do we go from here?

    and i have one question: Do you understand how other people work? is there a lack of evidence in the world about this?

    Teaching what you have learned is good – expecting all people to fully understand your message and for them to achieve what you have ‘received’ is Noble, however it also leaves itself open to much misunderstanding and error.

    Same with me.

    Hmmmmm….

    NOW i see why Alece uses that comment so much! πŸ™‚

    Nice one Leesh! πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

