Worth Considering!

“For now we see in a mirror, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know fully even as also I was fully known.”

or as Chris put it:

“Now we see things imperfectly as in a cloudy mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity. All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.”

READ what Paul says there. St Paul who was the greatest single contributor to our New Testament Scripture (in terms of number of books Authored).

There can be NO DOUBT that Paul had received the Gift of Holy Spirit – that He believed on Jesus – and yet what did he write of Himself???

“ALL THAT I NOW KNOW is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely!!!”

Let no Christian fool themselves they are greater than Paul was in his writing of Our Scripture.. He knew everything INcompletely – and that includes Jesus.

Our Understanding is INcomplete! That which we believe inΒ IS complete – we are not – yet!

33 thoughts on “Worth Considering!

  1. Haha. I have you in my reader, so it popped up right when you posted.

    I think some may look at this verse and hold it against Paul. Maybe saying that Paul spoke with a limited knowledge, because he, “only knew in part” when he spoke.

    I don’t see it that way.

    Carry on πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. lol – Seeing as how it is Scripture it therefore goes without saying (so i’ll say it!) that Paul was not the one writing – God was! (Scripture is the Divinely Inspired word of God – if it is just some bloke rambling unknowingly – even in ‘part’ – then what value is it really???)

    Want more? – Any questions?

    Anyone? πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I love this passage…it’s humbling to read…as much as Paul knew, he only knew in part…much to say about how much more will be revealed when we get there. Do you think it will take an eternity to get it understood? πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Understood Chris!

    Michelle: “And he said unto them, Verily I say unto you, There are some here of them that stand [by], who shall in no wise taste of death, till they see the kingdom of God come with power”

    In a word – No! πŸ™‚

    In more words – it will take a lot of hard ‘work’ however πŸ˜‰ The greater the suffering here, the greater the potential for understanding.

    Like

  5. There’s a TON of depth in these words!

    I believe what paul did give us is as you have said Love…inspired and truth. I do have on issue…

    “if it is just some bloke rambling unknowingly – even in β€˜part’ – then what value is it really???)”

    I actually get a ton out of your writing πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. One Ring to Rule them All…. πŸ˜‰

    Surely my words are clear, Chris? πŸ™‚

    I agree with Paul is all – and with Brent!

    (and even with Michelle – in part! πŸ˜‰ )

    What is most important though, is to agree with The Spirit!

    Second is to overcome that which is of the flesh from our mind and body. – to remove it from us wholly… bit by little bit.

    Like

  7. To anyone else there is a one-off Account opening fee of $100 US (redeemable in kind when you post my thoughts – Like Brent). For you, I’ll waive it πŸ™‚

    i o Tam – 1 pack of Oreos.

    I know what motivates you! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  8. Paul is indeed an interesting lesson in growth and humility. His earlier writings have him saying, “Imitate me, as I imitate Christ.” Later passages are like the one you write about, or the “I don’t know why I do what I do…”

    How often do we remember how sure of ourselves we were at an early age, only to be humbled later by the realization that there was still more and more to learn.

    Like

  9. Amen, b4dguy!

    Sometimes the trials get harder as you get older. I think it has something to do with the Refiner turning up the heat to get as much dross out as is possible before seeing Him face to face. At least, that’s my hope, that some eternal purpose is involved.

    Hi, Tam! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  10. Michelle, I think much eternal purpose is involved. It may not be solely exclusive to us tho. Look at how many people you have touched, been a comfort to, shared your experiences and wisdom learned in your affliction…it can only have benefited and strengthened and gave them hope (hopefully) – that has a great eternal purpose as the ones you extended hope to in turn will extend it to others…

    Like

  11. Thanks, Tam. Some days are harder than others to see any purpose. This is such a new medium to me, only been blogging since November ’07, so I’m beginning to see how reaching beyond my bedroom walls is now possible!

    My desire is to grow and “do” in the growing, but prayer counts as doing, right?! πŸ˜†

    Like

  12. Michele – one thing is certain – our Earthly life is finite – ‘we’ (our earthly) body will die here.

    This is the point.
    WE are more than our earthly bodies however – we are/have spirit through God’s Will.

    That is most assuredly eternal.

    If we can align perfectly ours with His miraculous things then become possible as Jesus promised us.

    Does that give you any ‘comfort’ (along with Tam’s word’s of wisdom).

    I believe we can overcome our own will given time.

    As Jesus said (quoted a couple of comments above) some will make it in this (His) lifetime – we should make every possible attept to do it in ours. But it is no easy task to remove those things we have grown within us from birth (need to survive ‘here’) the way of the flesh.

    Jesus did so i believe and His spirit was whole and pure within him.

    Many of us – even the ones who accept Him in name have difficulty in overcoming perfectly their own will – by reason of what Paul said – we know not perfectly – yet.

    Too often in pride we think we do – or worse we think there is no NEED to.

    Believe in Him – BE as Him – and work on removing from within us that which is of the Earth – of our ‘lower’ self.

    I hope that it does not take you – or anyone – an Eternity – that you finish the ‘work’ as did Jesus – in His own lifetime. πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Good points B4d, i believe it important we (i) do as He did – fully. ‘Imitating’ can have overtones of making a copy but not copying the ‘spirit’ of the original. It is important for us to be Faithful in all repsects to the Original we are ‘imitating’, not just to ‘outward’ appearances – as i am sure you will agree.

    As for Paul ‘not knowing’.

    I do not know Mathematics – fully, but i am as sure as is possible for a human to be that 2+2 = 4 and understand truly the ‘limited’ principles that let me have similar certainty for ALL such mathematical equations to the limit of my own understanding.

    What i mean here is – we never know fully (until we are AS Jesus was) but we can know somethings very well indeed – especially if we were honoured, like Paul was, to be living in Jesus’ time and had access ‘to the Man’, as did many writers of New Testament Scripture.

    What i am becoming more aware of now is that what i have to learn on my path to Him is not always exactly the same as what others have to – it is sufficient that i learn it correctly – passing such learnings on to others successfully occurs when and where He sees fit. πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. I love this verse! We don’t know everything and we all have lots to learn, and we will be perfected when we see HIM face to face…and then we will know!

    Like

  15. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I CAN’T WAIT to see “FACE TO FACE!!!”

    Actually, I take it back. I DO know about the rest of you. Because if I have lived a worthy life, you will miss me when I’m gone. That much, at least, I know.

    I know this much is true.

    Like

  16. Did i detect a Spandau Ballet fan in da house???

    I hope we never stop learning what is True – and like a child – we can still be surprised to find out from time to time that someof the things we believed are not as they at first seemed by reason of our lack of awareness/knowledge. That what we ‘know’ to be true still has some room for improvement.

    Our ego’s cause us to sin – sometimes in ways we do not yet see. ( But He sees all.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

